fragile …..

empath-definition

I am an empath. Many days, I wish I weren’t.

Being an empath is a lot like wearing your heart on the outside of your body. Leaving it exposed to the elements. The elements of love, and compassion, and ignorance, and hate.

I love,not just with my heart, but with my entire being….mind, body, soul. And if I love you, you will never have to wonder as you will always know.

But that being said, being an empath comes with a hefty price, as I feel everything so deeply that I am often left in pieces. Every single thing touches me, I want to save everyone and everything and to watch another suffer, is like an arrow through my core.

I spend hours worrying whether I did enough, said enough, was enough. I worry that at the end of my life, I will not have made a difference to all those who needed me.

Each day I set out with the grand intention of making this World a better place, and though I intend to do it in increments, somedays I bite off more than I can embrace. And my heart, being worn on the outside, often gets bruised.

I need to tend to my heart, I need to nurture it, and embrace it’s faults and fissures, and I need to allow it to fill back up. And you see, my friends, that is where each of you comes in. Each of you, fills my heart with love and gratitude. With encouragement when I am tired, with gratitude when I am feeling empty, and with love, every….single…..day.

The days that I am left with the worst of the wreckage are the days when you hold me the highest. You understand me. You gather round me. You fill my heart back up.

So today, after a day of picking up pieces. I am ready to take on the World. And though I will stand here and tell you, I will take it slowly, well, we all know how that is going to end.

So I will thank you ahead of time, because I know, without question, that you will handle my heart with great care.

So as you go out into today, always remember, that you matter. Take care of yourselves and of each other. Be kind. Be Grateful. BE LOVE

Leave a comment